The 2022 Australian Hellenic Chamber of Commerce and Industry Award Winners


The Australian Hellenic Chamber of Commerce and Industry (HACCI) announced yesterday, Friday 12 November, the 2022 HACCI Achievement Awards at The Plaza Ballroom, Melbourne, Australia in a ceremony which celebrated the best and brightest in the Greek-Australian community for the 36th year. in a row.

The night marked the return of the famous annual HACCI Gala Ball, one of the most glamorous events on Australia’s Hellenic social media calendar, after a two-year hiatus due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Some of Melbourne’s most prominent Greek Australians graced HACCI with their presence, along with distinguished members of the wider community: Maria Vamvakinou, MP, MP for Calwell; Keith Wolahan MP, MP for Menzies; Steve Dimopoulos MP, Victorian Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events and Minister for Creative Industries; Matthew Guy, MP, Leader of the Victorian Opposition; Lee Tarlamis, MP for the Southeast Metropolitan Area; Vivienne Nguyen AM, Chair of the Victorian Multicultural Commission; Emmanuel Kakavelakis, Consul General of Greece in Melbourne; and Bill Papastergiadis OAM, President of the Greek Orthodox Community of Melbourne and Victoria.

Strong for 36 years now, the HACCI Excellence Awards recognize excellence in business, leadership, philanthropy, innovation, science, the arts and community spirit; this would not have been possible without the generous and committed support of the sponsors and partners of the HACCI Award of Excellence, who were also present to celebrate: the Stamoulis family, who presented the Award of Excellence for their entire career; Miltos Michaelas, CEO of HACCI’s partner chamber, the Bank of Sydney; the president of PRONIA, Kris Pavlides; Steve Siolis of Directed Technologies; John Kallitsas of Salary Masters; Peter Zervos of BDO Australia; Steve Tsalikidis of Heidelberg United FC; and Stavros and Con Saristavros, who presented the Chris Saristavros Young Achiever Award.

Over 400 people gathered to honor the 2022 HACCI Award of Excellence winners and enjoy an evening of true Greek-style celebration, including a sumptuous three-course meal, premium Greek wines and delicious desserts.

Acclaimed actor, director, screenwriter, producer and speaker Tony Nikolakopoulos was the emcee, while HACCI board members Vicky Alexiou and Alex Ninis presented the awards to the recipients.

The winners of the 2022 HACCI Excellence Award:

• Spiro Stamoulis Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr Spiro Moraitis and Mr George Papadopoulos OAM, founders of PRONIA
• Bank of Sydney Commercial Excellence Award: Zaparas Lawyers
• Professional Excellence Award, presented by BDO Australia: Angelo Candalepas
• Innovation Award, presented by Directed Technologies: Dr Dimitrios Salampasis
• Woman of Influence Award presented by SalaryMasters: Effy Alexakis
• Community Service Award presented by PRONIA: Stella Avramopoulos
• Sporting prize presented by Heidelberg United FC: George Kambosos
• Chris Saristavros Young Director Award: Christos Papadimitriou

(from left to right): Christos Papadimitriou; Paul Zaparas; Stella Avramopoulos; Georges Papadopoulos; Effe Alexakis; Dimitrios Salampasis; Harley Moraitis; Angelo Candalepas




About Author

Comments are closed.