No more TikTok drafts? Here’s why (and how to protect them)

0

TikTok has a drafts folder that lets you save videos that you’re not quite ready to post. While it’s a useful tool, there are guidelines on how to save your drafts safely and avoid losing them by mistake.

Sometimes these drafts disappear and users wonder why they are no longer there. Here’s what to know about TikTok drafts, why they sometimes disappear, and how to prevent it from happening.

What are TikTok drafts?

TikTok is a great app for creating content quickly and easily. Because of this, you may end up with more content than you are ready to post. Or maybe you like to store content and then create a social media calendar posting schedule that spans a few weeks.

Either way, TikTok’s ability to save drafts lets you save videos you’re not ready to post yet so you can come back later.

Where are your drafts on TikTok?

Whenever you are ready to post a TikTok draft or come back to edit it, you can do so by going to your profile page. Your drafts will be located where you would typically see your most recent TikTok video.

When you click on this rectangle, you will be taken to a page of all your drafts where you can choose to delete, edit or publish any of them.

TikTok drafts disappeared? here’s why

You’ll notice at the top of the page, above all of your edited videos, that TikTok has a disclaimer that says:

Only you can see your drafts. Uninstalling TikTok will delete all drafts.

This is important to note, especially because there are times when uninstalling and reinstalling apps might be a suggested attempt to fix a malfunctioning app.

USE VIDEO OF THE DAY

If you delete the TikTok app, all drafts saved on that device will be permanently deleted.

If not, the problem may be with the device you are using. If you use TikTok on multiple devices, your drafts will be saved on the device you used to create the draft (since drafts are saved locally).

For example, if you created a draft using your iPad, you won’t be able to find that same draft on your iPhone, even if you’re signed into the same TikTok account. This is because all drafts are stored locally on each device.

Tips to Avoid Losing TikTok Drafts

If you want to protect your drafts, here are some best practices for your TikTok content, so you don’t lose anything:

  • Do not delete the TikTok app unless you have saved your drafts.
  • Post your drafts. The best way not to lose your drafts is to publish them. It also increases your chances of going viral if you post regularly.
  • Record video clips using your device’s camera function, instead of TikTok, when possible. TikTok gives you the option to download videos from your camera roll. If you save the majority of your content using the camera app, it’ll be easier to piece together old drafts if you ever lose them.
  • Post drafts privately. If you want to save a draft to your camera roll, but have decided not to publish it, you can publish it as a private video. You can always go back and delete the video from TikTok once you’ve posted it, and it’s saved to your camera roll, but either way, no one will be able to see it except you.
  • Be careful. It only takes a few clicks to permanently delete a draft on the drafts page. There’s no trash where it stays for 30 days before it’s permanently deleted, so it’s best to proceed with caution in your drafts folder.


Is it safe to use TikTok drafts?

TikTok drafts are easy and safe to use. However, it is important to keep in mind the different ways you could lose TikTok drafts, to avoid doing so.

It only takes a few clicks to permanently delete TikTok drafts that you may have worked very hard on, so make sure you know how to best secure them.

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.